Kindness is the new BLACK

Kindness IS the new BLACK.

Well it is my belief anyway. And as with all my designs they evolve around a narrative of many facets that seem to manifest into something tangible. Since silk screening my own fabric design with I wish I was WARHOL, I had been chomping at the bit to get back to it.
Enter Peter Walsh local screen printer with aplomb, who also shares a concern for keeping a sensitive approach to manufacture. These are key for me when I design or work with craftspeople. Peter and I embarked on a shared passion for bespoke design made locally.
My diaries (doodle pads really) travel with me as I notate, scribble, draw and giggle at vignettes of the sublime, ridiculous, humble and uplifting.

The idea of Kindness is the new BLACK evolved from the often ephemeral and fickle nature of design following trends. As a self proponent of following stories and heart not trends the quote lent itself rather nicely.

I knew that I also wanted to silk screen on something other than fabric. Long have I coveted and collected apothecary bottles in particular the amber kind. The idea of silk screening on bottles made a quirky kind of sense to me. So why not use these humble amber bottles to dispense olive oil, water for that matter? It all came together very fortuitously in Australia’s wine capital .

Hope you like!

23

26

bottle big

43

02

15

Leave a comment